Carter County is a participating member of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Formal adoption of Floodplain Ordinances was accomplished on July 25, 2011, by the Carter County Board of County Commissioners.

The Ordinances and Resolution can be found in the right hand column of this page. Other documents in the list are the Floodplain Permit Applcation, Oil & Gas Permit Instructions, Floodplain Depth of Burial Certification for Oil & Gas and Floodplain Compliance Certificate for Oil & Gas.

Paper maps are available for reference at the Map Repository; 25 A Street NW, Suite 111, Ardmore, OK 73401, along with digital map products.

Links to additional information on floodplains:

FEMA's Map Service Center

FEMA's Estimated Base Flood Elevation Viewer.

FEMA's Flood Insurance Program Website.

All completed Floodplain Permit applications must be returned to Carter County Floodplain Administration:

Permit Applications must be submitted to this office prior to 12:00 pm Thursdays in order to placed on the next commissioners agenda.

By Mail:

Carter County FPA
25 A Street NW, Suite 111
Ardmore, OK 73401
By Fax:


By Email:

Carter County Floodplain Admistration Forms, Ordinances and Resolutions

Carter County Floodplain Ordinance

Floodplain Ordinance Adoption Resolution

Elevation Certificate

Floodproofing Certificate for Non-Residential Structures

Letter of Map Amendment Application (LOMA)

Instructions for LOMAs

Floodplain Permit Application

Additional Forms and Instructions for Oil & Gas

Additional Oil & Gas Permit Instructions

Floodplain Depth of Burial Certification for Oil & Gas

Floodplain Compliance Certificate for Oil & Gas